Lab Science

"Imagination is more important than knowledge."

      - Albert Einstein

 

Teacher Spotlight

Wendy Welch

demoMs. Welch is Horace Mann's 8th grade Lab Science teacher. She enjoys teaching Lab Science and uses a Socratic method of teaching
Updated: March 26, 2013

Teacher Spotlight

Yvonne Bolden

demo

Ms. Bolden is Horace Mann's 7th grade Lab Science teacher. She finds teaching pleasant, thus her love towards her students. She is a fun-loving person and a really cool teacher. She is also the sponsor of L.O.V.E Team, Multicultural Club, and D.O.P. Club.

Updated: December 10, 2013

Teacher Spotlight

Karla Rice

demo

Ms. Rice teaches 8th grade Science and is Student Council's Sponsor. She loves her students for who they are and is a very enthusiastic person!

Updated: March 26, 2013

Student Spotlight

Lydia Cash

demoLydia actively participates in various science programs. Also, she is a L.O.V.E. team member. She says, " I like expanding my knowledge about the world around me."

Updated: March 26, 2013

Science Overview

a student holds a beaker during a lab experimentScience is everywhere and in everything! Our department philosophy is to help students to recognize the relationships between science disciplines and to appreciate the relevance of science in their everyday lives. Constructivist activities help students to internalize concepts which build sequentially from 6th grade to 8th grade.

Facilitating the process for students to become effective thinkers and problem solvers guides our coursework. Learning to ask questions, make observations, set up control experiments and document and interpret data all contribute to helping our students use the tools of science to draw appropriate conclusions for themselves. The collaborative nature of scientific work is strongly reinforced through frequent group activities in the classroom. Effective written and oral communication skills are emphasized as well as research skills and the use of appropriate technology.

The LRSD science curriculum emphasizes “hands-on” experiences for students. It is the intent and purpose of the Mann Science Department to integrate science with the other academic disciplines.

Science Fair Project Presentations

On January 14th, the Lab Science students will be presenting their science fair projects to be judged and graded. Students and parents are invited to attend and take part in touring the excellent projects presented. The projects will be housed in the Auditorium from 9 to 3 for viewing. Please come by and check out what our students are learning!

Department Staff

Teachers E-mail Gerade Location Other Duties
Blenda Barnes blenda.barnes 7th Room 306 Cheer Sponser
Yvonne Bolden yvonne.bolden@lrsd.org 7th Room 309

Department Chair/ L.O.V.E. Team Sponsor

Virginia Foster virginia.foster 8th Room310  
Antonette Henderson antonette.finney@lrsd.org 6th Room 316  
Rebecca Henry rebecca.henry@lrsd.org 6th Room 318  
Leslie Brooks-Jackson leslie.brooks.jackson@lrsd.org 7th/8th Room 308  
Karla Rice karla.rice@lrsd.org 8th Room 312 Student Council Sponsor
Kellie Smith kellie.smith@lrsd.org 8th Room 310 GT Coordinator
Kimberly Washington kimberly.washington@lrsd.org 6th Room 307 504 Coordinator
Wendy Welch wendy.welch@lrsd.org 8th Room 311 Science Club Sponsor

 

Science Game

Quick Review on microorganisms – identifying sources of bacteria and viruses

http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/scienceclips/ages/10_11/micro_organisms.shtml

Transfer of Energy, Newton’s Laws – Honda Ad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=49ex4T6repo

Educational Videos, Lessons, and Games k12

http://www.neok12.com/

Roder’s Chem 4 Kids

http://www.chem4kids.com

Mr. Nussbaum – Bacterial Invasion

http://www.mrnussbaum.com/bi1htm

Artificial Anatomy

http://americanhistory.si.edu/anatomy/bodyparts/nma03_bo

McGraw G

www.glenco.com/sec/science/activities/scivoyd_d/N/.j=html

NEOK12

http://www.neok12.com/diagram/Microorganisms-OR.htm

Graphing Sites

http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/createagraph/

http://www.mathgoodies.com/lessons/graphs/line.html

Genetics Game

http://www.mnzoo.org/education/games/matchmaker/index.html

(No description given)

http://sciencenetlinks.com/interactive/class.html

(No description given)

www.learningscience.org/psc2bmotionforces.htm

Updated: August 26, 2013
 

 

Welcome
Welcome
first image second image third image fourth image fifth image />sixth imageseventh image eighth image nineth image tenth image
Welcome
themed object
Arts & Science Magnet Middle School
Bookmark and Share