English Department

"Courage is grace under pressure."

      - Ernest Hemingway

 

 

Teacher Spotlight

COMING SOON!

Updated: September 16, 2015

Teacher Spotlight

COMING SOON!

Updated: September 16, 2015

Student Spotlight

COMING SOON!

Updated: September 16, 2015

English Department

Our Philosophy

In the Mann Magnet English department, our philosophy is based on the following ideals:

We try to instill and develop a passion for literature in our students in an effort to make them into lifelong readers. Literature is a source of beauty and imagination, and is a mirror to help us understand who we are and our place in the world. At the same time, we focus intensely on the skills, such as writing, literacy and multimedia literacy, that are essential for success in the 21st century.

Reading for its own sake is the noblest endeavor, a way to take you to new and unknown places and to stimulate the imagination. However, we strive to enable our students to make the connections between what we read and what goes on within their own lives and in the world at large. Great literature is great because it has something to teach everyone in every time and place.

Spanish Department

The purpose of this course is to reinforce the fundamental skills of the Spanish language that the student acquired in Spanish classes. The goal of this course is to provide a learning environment where every student can develop and discover their potential success. Learning Spanish requires being exposed to large amounts of the new language and getting accustomed to communicate in that language. Students will be asked to make every attempt to communicate in Spanish during class. Spanish is designed to help students develop listening, speaking, reading and writing skills in Spanish, and to expose the student to the different cultures of the Spanish-speaking world. A wide variety of methods and techniques will be used to reach, motivate, and challenge each student.

Department Staff

 

Teachers

E-mail

Grade

Location

Other Duties

Sandra Sessions sandra.sessions@lrsd.org 6th Room 424  
Shakeria Sweazie shakeria.sweazie@lrsd.org 6th Room 423  
Robyn Nosari robyn.nosari@lrsd.org 6th Room 418  
Mindy Williams mindy.williams@lrsd.org 8th Room 404  
Olympia Smith olympia.smith@lrsd.org 7th/8th Room 402  
Susan Merry susan.merry@lrsd.org 8th Room 406 Parent Involvement Coord.
Theresa Harris dorothy.harris@lrsd.org   Room 301 Literacy Facilitator
James Herrod james.herrod@rsd.org 7th Room 424  
Clarice Coleman clarice.coleman@lrsd.org 6th/7th Room 415 ESL Coordinator/ Spanish
Nancy Trice nancy.trice@lrsd.org 7th Room 411  
Ashley Boshears ashley.boshears@lrsd.org 6th/7th/8th Room 409 Spanish

 

 

 

 

Welcome
Welcome
first image second image third image fourth image fifth image sixth image seventh image eighth image
Welcome
themed object
Arts & Science Magnet Middle School
Bookmark and Share